The 2013 design competition, called “Pasyal Ilog Pasig” for short, engaged students of architecture, engineering, design, and planning – future leaders and builders of the Filipino Nation – to participate in a design competition aimed at restoring Pasig River as a prime destination in the Capital.  The challenge of the competition was to create a physical intervention that can serve as the impetus to redeeming the lost glory of Pasig River.

more about the Design Competition >>



24 August 2013
Architecture Department Bldg., University of the Philippines
Diliman, Quezon City

On 24 August 2013, the top ten qualifiers were identified.  One group (group no.  3) from the University of Santo Tomas; one goup (group no. 6) from Polytechnic University of the Philippines – Manila; one group (group no. 8) from Batangas State University; one group  (group no. 12) from the University of the Philippines –  Diliman; one group group no.  32) from De La Salle University  – Dasmariñas; and five groups (group nos. 42, 50, 60, 62 & 68) from Technological University of the Philippines – Manila.

Final Judging 

23 November 2013
National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA)
Intramuros, Manila

Final phase of the design competition was the judging of the ten finalists. Ten groups of contestants presented their scale models and other submittals to the panel of judges.

The Judges: Arch. Chino Reyes of Verduris Land Planners, Mr. Ronald Naguit of Pasig River Rehabilitation Commission, Dr. Gerd Rey Lico (for Architectural Modernism) of the National Committee on Architecture and Allied Arts, Director Juliet Villegas of National Parks Development Committee, Dr. Lope Calanog (for eco-tourism) of Ecosystems Research and Development Bureau, and Landscape Arch. Joven Ignacio (not in the photo)
The finalist explaining to the judges the details of the group’s entry – architectural drawings and scale models.


Awarding of Winners 

09 December 2013
Amphitheatre of Ninoy Aquino Parks and Wildlife Nature Center
Diliman, Quezon City

At the Awarding Ceremony, top ten groups of architecture students from various schools in Luzon were given recognition in their participation.  The scale models and design boards of the top ten entries were also opened for viewing during the event.

The winning group from the University of Philippines – Diliman 

The top three winning entries were given trophies, cash prizes (P50,000.00, P30,000.00, P20,000,respectively), bags of Unilever products, and free training on Autodesk 3ds Max Design at Stanford IT Learning. They were groups from –

  • University of Philippines – Diliman (first place)
    –  Red Kevin Gonzales
    –  Veronica Ginez
    –  Marvin Arellano
  • De la Salle University – Damariñas (second place)
    –  Gregor Brian Sartin
    –  Ayn Carlo Del Mundo
    –  Bob Calumba
  • Batangas State University (third place)
    –  Don Dexter Mambong
    –  Glenn Landicho
    –  Roubin Delos Reyes
    –  Alexis Falcon