The Project: Youth-in-Action for Lake Consevation

The Project aimed to empower and mobilize the youth to take actions that will arrest the deterioration of Laguna de Bay thus contributing significantly to the overall conservation efforts.  It covered three lakeshore municipalities (Angono, Binangonan, and Pateros) and two lakeshore cities (Muntinlupa and Taguig).

What we hoped to achieve –

  • increase awareness of the youth of the importance of the lake in their daily lives by taking actions in their schools and communities to conserve the lake.
  • manage domestic waste on a pilot scale and later replicate them to help reduce pollution in the lake.
  • expand partnerships for lake conservation among the concerned local government units, the academe, the non-government organizations, and the industry.

more about the  Project >>

Awarding of Best Practice in Lake Conservation

From these lakeshore communities, one hundred forty-one youth underwent an Ecological Camp. These resulted in action plans implemented over a six-month period in their respective communities in partnership with barangay leaders, school officials, local organizations and parents. As a culmination of the Project, the judging and awarding of the best conservation project that has been implemented out of this significant initiative was held on 20 December 2010 at the Ortigas Foundation Library, Ortigas Center, Pasig City.

The five contenders were the following:

  1.  “Lugawan sa Barangay Para sa Lawa (Daloy)” of Angono
  2. Lonely River, Tayo ang Saver” of Pateros
  3. Target Basura…. Bull’s Eye” of Binangonan
  4. Ating Solusyonan ang Polusyon (ASAP) sa Laguna de Bay” of Taguig City
  5. Munting Bata, Sasagip sa Lawa” of Muntinlupa City

Getting tie scores from the judges and declared Best Practice in Lake Conservation were Lonely River, Tayo ang Saver” of Pateros andTarget Basura…. Bull’s Eye” of Binangonan.

Present in the event was Ms. Jan Ivy Dela Cruz who represented the Country Manager of UPS Philippines

Each group was given ample time to present the details of their implemented project and the progress of its implementation.


The board of judges was composed of Ms. Lina Tanjuatco, President of the Federation of River Basin Councils for Laguna de Bay Region;  Ms. Elizabeth Roxas, Executive Director of the Environmental Broadcast Circle; Dr. Filemon Romero , former President of the Society for the Conservation of Philippine Wetlands (represented here by Ms. Karina Discaya, a member of SCPW Board of Trustees), Ms. Liza Vengco, Manager for External Communications of Unilever Philippines; and Ms. Lyn Capistrano, Executive Director of Philippine Center for Water and Sanitation.


Two project tied for the Best Practice in Lake Conservation.  Ms. Amy Lecciones of the Society for the Conservation of Philippine Wetlands and Ms. Jan Ivy Dela Cruz of UPS Philippines awarded the two winning groups with cash prizes.



Implementors –