DSC00115The 4th Wetland Center Design Competition culminated with the Exhibition and Awarding Ceremonies organized by the Society for the Conservation of Philippine Wetlands, Inc. (SCPW), in partnership with SM Prime Holdings, Inc., with the support of Maynilad, Unilever Philippines, and the Living Lakes Biodiversity and Climate Project (LLBCP). The event was held on May 27, 2024, at the 4th Floor, SM North EDSA Atrium Annex, Quezon City in celebration of the International Day for Biological Diversity. The event gathered participants, judges, school officials and supporters to honor the creativity and dedication of young architects and designers who participated in this prestigious competition.


Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila (PLM) garnered 1st Place for their design of the Wetland Center for the Macabebe Mangrove and Coastal Site in Brgy. Consuelo, Macabebe, Pampanga, titled “Bankauan.” The PLM team, composed of Edna Mavelle V. Velayo, Angelica Bautista, James Louie F. Andeza, Kyle Cedric Zabala, and Janiro Urizza, brought home certificates, tokens, a Plaque of Recognition, and a cash prize of P50,000.00, along with an additional P50,000.00 for their university. Also gracing the event were Atty. Domingo Reyes, Jr., University President of PLM, along with Arch. Jared Aaron R. Cruz, Dean of College of Architecture and Sustainable Built Environments of PLM.

DSC00096De La Salle University – College of Saint Benilde (DLSU-CSB) secured 2nd Place with their design “Isnawa.” The team received certificates, tokens, a Plaque of Recognition, and a P30,000.00 cash prize. National University’s “Talisayan” was awarded 3rd Place, acquiring certificates, tokens, a Plaque of Recognition, and a P20,000.00 cash prize. Recognition was also given to other participating teams from Batangas State University, Polytechnic University of the Philippines, University of Santo Tomas, and Far Eastern University for their outstanding contributions. They received plaques of recognition, certificates of participation, tokens, and consolation prize of P5,000.00 each.


DSC00038The event commenced with Welcome Remarks from Engr. Ramon Gil Macapagal, Trustee of the SM Foundation, followed by opening remarks read by Dr. Simplicia Pasicolan, Trustee of SCPW, on behalf of Ar. Celestino B. Ulep, President of SCPW. Ar. Aaron Julius Lecciones, Head of the SCPW Wetland Design Team and SCPW Trustee, also gave an inspirational message to the event being the brainchild of the competition.



DSC09864Ms. Armida P. Andres, OIC Assistant Director of the Biodiversity Management Bureau, Department of Environment and Natural Resources, delivered a message highlighting that the experience and learnings from this competition since 2005 can serve as inputs to policy guidance on Biodiversity-Friendly Wetland Infrastructure. She also emphasized that the activities in the competition already count as being part of the Plan, which is in support to the Kunming-Montreal Global Biodiversity Framework (KMGBF). Dr. Arvin C. Diesmos delivered the Keynote Message of Dr. Theresa Mundita S. Lim, Executive Director of the ASEAN Centre for Biodiversity, emphasizing the critical role of innovative design in biodiversity conservation.


DSC09932The ceremony also honored the efforts of the preliminary and final judges, along with dedicated volunteers who made the competition possible. Ms. Amy M. Lecciones concluded the ceremony with closing remarks, expressing gratitude to all participants, supporters, partners, and sponsors.

The event wrapped up with the opening of the Wetland Center Design Exhibit, with the design boards and scale models displayed for everyone to enjoy, to celebrate the achievements of the participating teams and more importantly, to convey the message of biodiversity and wetland conservation.




PLM Tops the SCPW 4th Wetland Center Design Competition

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

PLM Tops the SCPW 4th Wetland …

by Darry Estorba time to read: 2 min